Options for California Employees Impacted by Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Corona Virus (COVID -19) has detrimentally impacted California workers in recent weeks and has left many employees asking questions about what their options are if they have been impacted by layoffs, wage loss, or lost time at work due to quarantines. This article is meant to provide just a few options California employees have, depending…Read More
California Furthers Equal Pay Rights
In April 2018, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals held in Rizo v. Yovino that an employer cannot justify a wage differential between male and female employees under the Equal Pay Act by relying on the employee’s prior salary. This case was later overturned by the United States Supreme Court on a technicality, but the…Read More
Male on Male Sexual Harassment
When most people think of sexual harassment in the workplace, they think of male workers harassing or propositioning female coworkers. However, men can also be the victims of sexual harassment in the workplace. In fact, female on male, or male on male, harassment accounts for approximately 20% of all harassment complaints filed with the Equal…Read More
California Lactation Areas – Bathrooms NOT Included
Labor Code § 1031 has been amended by the California Legislature to make it clear that an employer must make reasonable efforts to provide an employee with the use of a room or other location, other than a bathroom, for lactation. This brings the California Labor Code into compliance with the Federal Affordable Care Act,…Read More
California Minimum Wage Increases in 2020
In 2016, California enacted SB 3, authorizing annual minimum wage increases until it reaches $15.00, and identifying a two-tiered schedule for the effective dates of these increases depending on whether the employer has more than 25 employees. As minimum wage increases, so does the employees regular rate for purposes of calculating time and a half…Read More
California Minimum Wage Increases in 2018
What is minimum wage in California? As of January 1. 2018, California’s minimum wage is $11.00 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $10.50 per hour for employers with less than 26 employees. However, the increases in California’s minimum wage will not stop there. Under Labor Code section 1182.12, California’s minimum…Read More
California Meal Breaks – When Can Meal Breaks Be Waived?
When Can Meal Breaks be Waived in California? Meal breaks in California can be waived only under very limited circumstances. Shifts Between 5-6 Hours If the total shift worked is less than six (6) hours total, then the employer and the employee can agree that no meal period will be taken by the employee. Shifts…Read More
California Meal Breaks and Rest Breaks – When Are They Required?
Are meal breaks and rest breaks required in California? Yes. In California, employers are required to provide their employees both meal breaks and rest breaks depending on the hours those employees work. CALIFORNIA MEAL BREAKS When are meal breaks required in California? Under California law (Wage Orders and Labor Code Section 512), employees must be…Read More
California Pregnancy Leave Laws
What types of maternity leave are available in California? For families expecting a new child, pregnancy leave laws in California are important but complicated. There are three basic types of leave that parents may take: FMLA leave, CFRA leave, and pregnancy disability leave. Many parents qualify for the California Paid Family Leave program as well.…Read More
California Overtime Laws – When Is Overtime Pay Required in California?
Overtime laws were established under both California law and federal law to reward employees for working long hours. They were also put in place to prevent employees from overworking their employees by putting financial pressure on the employer. Is Overtime Owed After 8 Hours or 40 Hours in California? Under both California and federal law,…Read More